The New Castle Court House Museum will reopen in June after being closed for several months for the installation of a new fire sprinkler system. 

The fire suppression system will make the courthouse a safer place for both visitors and staff. The museum’s contents were made safe from damage while staff continued to work in alternative areas in the building during installation. 

The majority of the Museum will be opening for Day in Old New Castle on Saturday, May 21. School groups will be able to utilize the building once again, and normal operating hours will resume in early June. Follow the Museum on Facebook at .facebook.com/NewCastleCourtHouse or check back at history.delaware.gov for updates.

Built in 1732, the courthouse served as Delaware’s first court and is one of the oldest active courthouses in the United States. It is a designated National Historic Landmark. In 1776 at the courthouse, the three Delaware counties declared their independence from Pennsylvania and England, officially creating Delaware as a state. The courthouse then served as the state’s first capital.

All contractors involved in the project were selected for their experience working with historic buildings. Detailed designs were reviewed by the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, the State Historic Preservation Office and the National Park Service.  

The courthouse museum is located at 211 Delaware St. in New Castle. For information on tours, call (302) 323-4453 or email NCCHmuseum@delaware.gov.