Our Museums

Administered by the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, the five museums of the State of Delaware tell the story of the First State’s contributions to the history and culture of the United States. Through tours, exhibits and special programs, the museums shine a spotlight on Delaware’s unique history and the diverse people who came to live there. Admission is free and open to the public.

Front view of Cooch family house, beige two story building with large screened in porch supported by columns. Historic stone smokehouse in the background.

Cooch’s Bridge Historic Site

The Cooch’s Bridge Historic Site includes the Cooch Homestead and Cooch-Dayett Mill complex. The site is currently transitioning from private ownership to public site, undergoing necessary preservation and renovation. The location of Delaware’s only Revolutionary War era land battle, the site’s history covers centuries. Stories include: agricultural use, industry, the experiences of Black families both free and enslaved, and the Cooch family who lived on the property for 7 generations.

Address: 961 S. Old Baltimore Pike, Newark, DE 19702

Hours of Operation: Accessible with a reservation on a scheduled tour. Groups (8 or more) interested in touring the site can schedule a private tour.

For more information, call (302) 731-5780.

Photo of the mansion at the John Dickinson Plantation

John Dickinson Plantation

The John Dickinson Plantation was home to a variety of people. We share the stories of the tenant farmers, indentured servants, free and enslaved Black men, women, and children who lived, labored, and died on the plantation. John Dickinson was a framer and signer of the U.S. Constitution and was known as the “Penman of the Revolution.” He was an American founding father, who wrote of freedom and liberty for all while holding human beings in bondage.

Address: 340 Kitts Hummock Road, Dover, DE 19901

Hours of Operation:
Tuesdays: Outdoor visitation only. Grounds open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Wednesdays: Visitor center and grounds open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Thursdays through Saturdays: Visitor center and grounds open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Guided tours of the mansion at 10:30 a.m., 11:30 a.m., 1:30 p.m., 2:30 p.m. and 3:30 p.m.

Sundays: Visitor center and grounds open 1:30 p.m. to 4 p.m. Guided tours of the mansion at 2:00 p.m. and 3:00 p.m.

For more information, call 302-739-3277.

Photo of a display at the Johnson Victrola Museum

Johnson Victrola Museum

Founded in 1967, the museum details the origin of recorded music. Exhibits showcase the life and legacy of Eldridge Reeves Johnson, a pioneer in early sound recording and co-founder of the Victor Talking Machine Company.

Address: 375 S. New St., Dover, DE 19904

Hours of Operation:
Open for self-guided tours Wednesdays through Saturdays from 9:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.

For more information, call 302-739-3262.

Photo of the New Castle Court House Museum

New Castle Court House Museum

Delaware’s first court and state capitol, built in 1732. Here in 1776, Delaware declared its independence from both Pennsylvania and England.

Address: 211 Delaware St., New Castle, DE 19720

Hours of Operation:
Wednesdays through Saturdays: Open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. with tours at 10 a.m., 11 a.m., 1 p.m., 2 p.m. and 3 p.m.

Sundays: Open 1:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. with tours at 1:30 p.m., 2:30 p.m. and 3:30 p.m.

Tours meet at the front entrance to the museum.

For more information, call 302-323-4453.

Photo of the Senate chamber in The Old State House

The Old State House

Completed in 1791, The Old State House served as Delaware’s capitol during the United States’ critical early years as a nation.

Address: 25 The Green, Dover, DE 19901

Hours of Operation:
Open for guided tours Wednesdays through Saturdays at 10 a.m., 11 a.m. 1 p.m., 2 p.m. and 3 p.m.

For more information, call 302-744-5054.

Photo of the Zwaanendael Museum

Zwaanendael Museum

Built in commemoration of Delaware’s first European colony, Swanendael, the museum serves as a showcase for Lewes-area maritime, military and social history.

Address: 102 Kings Highway, Lewes, DE 19958

Hours of Operation:
Open Wednesdays through Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.

For more information, call 302-645-1148.

Tourism Partners

Photo of Delaware Public Archives building

First State Heritage Park
Welcome Center and Galleries

Housed in the Delaware Public Archives building, the welcome center features changing exhibits and a rotating display of Delaware’s founding documents while also serving as a source of information on local and statewide attractions, events, and activities.

Related Topics:  , , , , , , , , , , ,