
Comparison of Delaware Historic Preservation Tax Credit and Federal Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit Programs 
 

 

 State Credit Federal Credit 
Benefit for Taxpayer Credit against state tax liability = reduction in state income or 

franchise tax liability 

Credit against Federal tax liability = reduction in federal income tax 

Transferable? Yes, in whole or in part, to any Delaware income taxpayer, or to a 

bank as a mortgage credit or a credit against franchise tax liability 

No. Must own at least a partial interest in property and must hold property for 

5 years or credit will be re-captured 

When Can Credits Be 

Claimed? 

One year after receiving Part 2 Certification of Rehabilitation, if 

Owner has obtained a certified Part 3 Certificate of Completion 

During year the building is placed in service 

Percentage of Credit 20% of qualified costs for depreciable properties, 30% of qualified 

costs for all other types of properties 

20% of qualified costs for depreciable properties 

Low Income Provisions Credits are increased by 10% for properties or parts of properties 

which qualify to apply for state low-income housing tax credits, or if 

the owner personally meets certain low-income criteria 

Low-income tax credit is available using a separate application process 

through the Delaware State Housing Authority 

What Expenditures 

Qualify for Credit? 

Rehabilitation costs on historic building, plus costs related to additions 

if their square footage does not exceed 20% of the historic building, 

and site work if its cost does not exceed 10% of all other qualified 

costs, including architectural & engineering costs, site survey fees, 

legal fees, development fees & other construction-related costs 

Rehabilitation costs on historic building, architectural & engineering costs, 

site survey fees, legal fees, development fees & other construction-related 

costs 

What expenditures do not 

Qualify for Credit? 

Acquisition, costs of additions which exceed above criteria, 

landscaping costs which exceed above criteria, and personal property 

including furnishings, window treatments, and appliances 

Acquisition, additions, new construction, parking lot, sidewalks, landscaping 

and personal property including furnishings, window treatments and 

appliances as well as other exclusions specified in the IRS regulations 

Minimum Expenditures 

to Qualify for Program? 

For non-profit and owner-occupied properties – minimum of $5,000 in 

expenditures. For depreciable properties – exceed adjusted basis but 

minimally $5,000. Phasing of projects is allowed. 

Exceed adjusted basis but minimally $5,000 within a 24-month period during 

the rehab (or 60 months if rehabilitation is phased) 

How much Money for 

Program? 

Program capped at $8 million in tax credits per year; certain other rules 

affect when tax credits may be awarded. 

No cap 

Term of Program Began in 2001; authorized through FY 2030 Began in 1976; amended by various tax laws 

Properties Which 

Qualify? 

National Register listed individually or as contributing to a National 

Register district; or a locally designated landmark or contributing to a 

locally designated district (if locally designated, local government 

must provide documentation of such designation, and then SHPO 

must certify property is National Register eligible) 

National Register listed, or eligible (must be listed within 30 months of a Part 1 

- preliminary determination); or contributing to a locally designated district (if 

locally designated Secretary of the Interior must certify district as National 

Register eligible). 

Building Use after 

Rehab? 

Depreciable– commercial, industrial, agricultural, or rental residential 

Residential – owner occupied, primary residence 

Other uses – non-profit purposes, e.g., community center  

 

Depreciable - commercial, industrial, agricultural, or rental residential 

https://www.destatehousing.com/build/lihtc/


 State Credit Federal Credit 
Rehabilitation 

Application Process 

4 part application: Part 1 - Certification of Historic Property, Part 2 - 

Certification of Rehabilitation, Part 3 - Request for Certificate of 
Completion, and Request for Credit Award 

3 part application: Part 1 - Evaluation of Significance, Part 2 - Description of 

Rehabilitation, and Part 3 - Certification of Completed Work. (Those 
properties individually listed on NR need not submit Part 1) 

Review Standards Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation 
 

Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation 

Review Fee The fee for applicants of owner-occupied properties and resident 

curators is a one-time $100 fee due with the submission of the Part 1 -

Request for Certification of Historic Property application.  

 

The fee for all other applicants is as follows: $250 due with the 

submission of the Part 1 - Request for Certification of Historic 

Property application; 1.5% of the anticipated credit award reported in 

the Part 2 - Certification of Rehabilitation application; and 1.5% of the 

credit award amount indicated by the Part 3 - Certification of 

Completion application. The fee will be calculated by the Delaware 

State Historic Preservation Office based on the qualified expenditures 

indicated in the Part 2 and Part 3 applications and their associated 

documentation. All fees are non-refundable. 

 

 Please use the following link for information on the Federal tax credit 

application fee structure: 

https://www.nps.gov/subjects/taxincentives/application-fees.htm.  

How to Apply Submit applications through an online system: 

https://hptc.delaware.gov/. Obtain a MyDelaware account to access 

the application forms in the system: my.delaware.gov 

Download PDF applications from NPS: 
https://www.nps.gov/subjects/taxincentives/historic-preservation-certification-
application.htm 
 
Email completed applications to the Delaware State Historic Preservation Office 
(SHPO) at HCA_HistoricTaxCredit@delaware.gov. The SHPO will review the 
application and submit it to the National Park Service, which makes final 
determinations. 
 

 

 

 

For further information on these programs: http://history.delaware.gov/preservation/taxcredit.shtml or http://www.nps.gov/tps/tax-incentives.htm 

Contact: Tax Incentive Program Manager, Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, (302-736-7400); HCA_HistoricTaxCredit@delaware.gov. 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

This document has been financed in part with Federal funds from the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior; however, the contents and opinions do not necessarily reflect the views or policies of this agency. Under 
Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, as amended, the U.S. Department of the Interior prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, 

national origin, disability or age in its federally assisted programs. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, activity, or facility as described above, or if you desire further information, please write to: 

Office of Equal Opportunity, National Park Service, 1849 C Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20240. 
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