On March 7, 2012, U.S. Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar announced that $46.9 million in Historic Preservation Fund matching-grants would be distributed to the states during federal fiscal year 2012 including $528,258 to the state of Delaware.
Historic Preservation Fund grants are primarily used to support the programs of state historic preservation offices including the Delaware State Historic Preservation Office, a unit of the Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs. Historic Preservation Fund grants help to support staff in carrying out the mandate of the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966 including conducting surveys and comprehensive preservation-planning studies, assisting with National Register nominations, administering tax incentive programs and providing educational materials necessary to encourage the preservation of historic properties. At least 10 percent of each state's grant must, in turn, be sub-granted to certified local governments for locally based preservation-related activities.
Go to the following for a report on the recent accomplishments of the Delaware State Historic Preservation Office.
Go to the following for the 2011 Historic Preservation Fund Annual Report.
Statue of Caesar Rodney by James E. Kelley, a contributing element of Wilmington's Rodney Square Historic District which was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2011.
The Delaware State Historic Preservation Office has recently released a report on some of the most significant accomplishments that it has achieved during the past year. A unit of the state's Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, the office administers a broad range of federal and state programs that identify, register and help to preserve Delaware's historic places and unique cultural identity.
Go to the following to read the report.
Delaware Breakwater East End Lighthouse
Lens of the Delaware Breakwater East End Lighthouse
An article in the Jan.-March issue of "Update," the newsletter of the Delaware River and Bay Lighthouse Foundation, reported that a professional lampist from the Lighthouse and Lens Restoration Corp. of Staten Island, NY had inspected the lens in the Delaware Breakwater East End Lighthouse and found it to be in excellent condition with no missing or loose prisms, and no major chips or breaks.
The Delaware Breakwater East End Lighthouse was built in 1885 as a navigational aid for ships entering the Delaware Bay. Surrounded by water, the lighthouse is located at the eastern end of the inner breakwater in Lewes, and is a property of the state of Delaware, Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs. Access to the site is prohibited except for accompanied tours sponsored by the Delaware River and Bay Lighthouse Foundation.
"Landing of the DeVries Colony at Swaanendael, Lewes, Delaware 1631" by Stanley M. Arthurs. Courtesy of the permanent collection of the University of Delaware.
Delaware's long-standing connection to the Netherlands—which stretches back in time to the state's first European colony, Swanendael, established by the Dutch in 1631 in present-day Lewes; and a later Dutch expedition in 1651 which build Fort Casimir at present-day New Castle—will be explored in the following series of programs that will take place throughout the month of April at the museums of the state of Delaware. All programs are free and open to the public. For additional information, call 302-744-5055.
Sunday, April 1, 2012
"Swanendael." Program by Delaware Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs archaeologist Craig Lukezic on Delaware's first European settlement established by the Dutch in 1631. New Castle Court House Museum, 211 Delaware St., New Castle, Del. Program at 2 p.m. Museum open 1:30-4:30 p.m. 302-323-4453.
Saturday, April 7, 2012
"All That Is Dutch: Discovering the Dutch Roots in Delaware Through Archaeology." Program utilizes Dutch-related artifacts found in Delaware to explore how the Netherlands helped to shape the state's history. The Old State House, 25 The Green, Dover, Del. Program at 1 p.m. Museum open 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m. 302-744-5055.
Saturday, April 21, 2012
Dutch-American Friendship Day. Event commemorates April 19, 1782, the day that John Adams, who would later become the second president of the United States, was received by the States General in The Hague and recognized as Minister Plenipotentiary of the United States of America. It was also the day that the house he had purchased at Fluwelen Burgwal 18 in The Hague was to become the first American embassy in the world. The museum's program will explore Delaware's Dutch roots and demonstrate how that connection is alive today. Zwaanendael Museum, 102 Kings Highway, Lewes, Del. 10 a.m.-4:30 p.m. 302-645-1148.
Celebrated in the Netherlands on April 30, Koninginnedag (Queen's Day) is a Dutch national holiday which honors that nation's 200-year-old monarchy.
Saturday, April 28, 2012
Help celebrate the Dutch queen's birthday and Delaware's connection to the Netherlands. Zwaanendael Museum, 102 Kings Highway, Lewes, Del. 10 a.m.-4:30 p.m. 302-645-1148.
Saturday, April 28, 2012
Explore historical Dutch foodways during a celebration of the birthday of the queen of the Netherlands. John Dickinson Plantation, 340 Kitts Hummock Road, Dover, Del. Program 11 a.m.-3 p.m. Museum open 10 a.m.-3:30 p.m. 302-739-3277.
Monday, April 30, 2012
Help celebrate the Dutch queen's birthday and Delaware's connection to the Netherlands. The Old State House, 25 The Green, Dover, Del. 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m. 302-744-5055.
Duke Ellington's Victor recordings will be featured in the Jazz Appreciation Month program at the Johnson Victrola Museum.
On Saturday, April 7, 2012, the state of Delaware's three downtown Dover museums will be presenting special programming as part of "First Saturday in the First State," a monthly series of events sponsored by the First State Heritage Park. Admission for all programs is free and open to the public. For additional information, call the First State Heritage Park Welcome Center and Galleries at 302-744-5055.
The Johnson Victrola Museum, located at 375 S. New St., will present a program celebrating Jazz Appreciation Month. Activities will explore the early jazz performers who were recorded by the Victor Talking Machine Company, accompanied by recordings of those artists played on authentic Victor Talking Machines. The museum will be open from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
In the program, "All That Is Dutch: Discovering the Dutch Roots in Delaware Through Archaeology" which will take place at 1 p.m., The Old State House, located at 25 The Green, will utilize Dutch-related artifacts found in Delaware to explore how the Netherlands helped to shape the state's history. The museum will also be open for tours between 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Finally, the First State Heritage Park Welcome Center and Galleries, located at 121 Duke of York St., will present "We Poor Devils," a series of specialized guided tours focusing on various aspects of "The Civil War: Five Delaware Soldiers' Stories," a display that explores the experiences of five of the more than 13,000 Delawareans who fought in the American Civil War. Tours will take place at 10 a.m., Noon and 2:30 p.m. The welcome center will also be open for visitation from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Members of the public are invited to attend the annual meeting of the Delaware State Review Board for Historic Preservation which will take place on Wednesday, April 11, 2012, from 9 a.m. to Noon, at The Old State House located at 25 The Green in Dover, Del. As part of the proceedings, the review board will be updated on the State Historic Preservation Plan and its upcoming production schedule, National Register and National Historic Landmark activities and state and federal preservation tax credit activities. Due to limited spaces, attendees are encouraged to park their cars at the Delaware Public Archives located at 121 Duke of York St. in Dover. If the meeting is cancelled due to inclement weather, it will be rescheduled to Wednesday, April 18, 2012 at the same time and location.
In accordance with the Delaware Freedom of Information Act, this meeting is open to the public and copies of the minutes will be made available upon request in accordance with the law. Written comments should be submitted prior to the meeting date. Oral comments and questions will be invited during the meeting.
For additional information, please contact Gwen Davis, deputy state historic preservation officer, Division of Historical and Cultural Affairs, 21 The Green, Dover, DE 19901 or telephone 302-736-7410.
Individuals needing reasonable accommodations in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act may call 302-736-7400 by Wednesday, April 4, 2012.
Hand-dipped candles (bottom center) and the materials needed to produce them at the John Dickinson Plantation.
As part of a 1781 lease agreement, John Dickinson expected his tenant William White to provide 50 pounds of candles at six candles per pound. Visitors can help the plantation meet this requirement by learning how to hand-dip candles utilizing 18th century techniques. The candle-dipping demonstrations will take place on Wednesday, April 11, 18 and 25, 2012, between 11 a.m. and 2:30 p.m., at the John Dickinson Plantation, located at 340 Kitts Hummock Road in Dover, Del. The plantation will also be open for visitation and tours between the hours of 10 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. Admission is free and open to the public. For additional information, call 302-739-3277.